REFLECTION: Update to Studio Space: Moving forward

I have been highly interested in the project I am working on and have experimented with different ways of portraying the hidden loneliness of the city, I have worked with a variety of techniques including sketching, painting, mixed media work, photo manipulation, monoprint, working with drawing inks and photography. In order to take a step back and look at all the things I have created and worked with, I decided to update my Studio Space. I felt this would inform my decision to move on in the project and ponder over the work already done to progress to creating new work within this project.

IMG_2254

Looking at my experiments all together allowed me to analyse how well I am portraying my chosen subject, I think I am showing the hidden loneliness within cities quite successfully in my work as a whole, but particularly when working with the idea of one person in detail within my work and all the others portrayed as silhouettes or painted in white, so this is something I will continue to work with. I also think the painting experiments using dark colours are a particularly successful element and I am now going to work on a larger piece using these techniques. Looking back, the monoprints are not as successful as I would like them to be, so I think I will produce a few more and take more time on them.

From attending the grounds workshop, I have learnt that the ground can affect the way the end result of a painting looks massively so I would like to experiment with creating experiments incorporating lonely figures working on top of a variety of grounds. I would also like to create a piece iincorporating multiple layers of glazes to build depth into my loneliness work, so this is something I will also work with. Considering all this work together has made me consider the fact that the colouring of it all is very monochrome, sepia and dark. It has encouraged me to think about maybe trying to show loneliness when using bright colours or to experiment with the idea of colour showing how the city is glamourized and a lone figure portraying the reality for many. I would also like to experiment with a few mediums, inspired by the workshop I attended on Wednesday.

IMG_2255

From looking at this work all together and thinking about what I have learnt in the workshops I have undertaken, I have plenty of work to be getting on with and can start working with ways to move my project forward and focus on its success. Last term, one of the criticisms in my feedback was that I didn’t really reflect and may have disregarded it as I’d been so hard-working. I see this as incredibly valuable feedback now because It was definitely worthwhile updating my studio space and looking back and reflecting on what I have produced so far. It can undoubtedly kick-start your ideas on how to progress and help you decide what you would like to produce next.

Leave a Reply

