UPDATE: THE CHANGES OF MY MOULDING PETRI DISH ART WORK

Within my subject module, as things physically change over time, it is highly important to document the developments of my work and take photographs of things that have moulded. Here are some images of my moulding Petri Dish artwork, It has demonstrated the juxtaposition between real mould changing over time and the mould that I created being a frozen moment in time highly accurately. The Fake moulding dishes have not changed but that cannot be said for the real moulds.

IMG_2225

With this Idea, I wanted to portray the concept of the juxta position and relationship between real and fake moulds. I also wanted to portray the fact that the things we throw away and take for granted i.e. moulding food can be art and can be seen in a different light. It is so interesting to see how these litle petri dishes have changed over the christmas holiday and it is a shame that we miss a lot by ignoring it or in this case, binning it before it gets to this stage. Below are some particularly interesting dishes and changes that have occured:

IMG_2226

IMG_2228

IMG_2227

In this project, I set out to investigate and capture food decay, I wanted to create an interesting art project and pieces that is not typical or usually thought of as art. I think I have definitely been successful in adhereing to both of these goals within this piece and the whole body of work that I have created.

IMG_2229

I have captured decay that we wouldn’t usually get to see and I have used mould to create art pieces, I have also reigned my ideas in from watching things mould and created fake moulds using art materials and paints. Juxtaposing these two elements within this piece has brought my project together and makes it feel a lot more consolidated as a whole. I will continue to work with these ideas and think about reflecting and discussing whether I consider my work to be art at all. 

Leave a Reply

