The Holocaust Memorial

Whilst in Berlin, I went to visit the Holocaust Memorial, A memorial to the Jewish victims of the holocaust, designed by architect Peter Eisenmann and engineer Buro Happold. It is made up of many stones, kind of grave like monuments which you can walk in between on uneven ground. According to Eisenman’s project text, the Stones are designed to produce an uneasy, confusing atmosphere, and the whole sculpture aims to represent a supposedly ordered system that has lost touch with human reason.

IMG_1585

I felt quite uncomfortable whilst walking through the memorial, the stones are huge and I felt very small and overwhelmed when walking in between them. I also felt incredibly isolated and lonely within it. There is a feeling of sadness in the piece and I felt very insignificant within it.

IMG_1582

the holocaust memorial

I thought the memorial was quite relevant to my project because it made me feel isolated and alone. It is an amazing piece capturing the memories and essence of the jews that unfortunately lost their lives in such a terrible way. After researching this memorial further, I realised there was a lot of controversy surrounding it. It was described by Ignatz Bubis, the then leader of the German Jewish community, as unnecessary.

 

Leave a Reply

