Pecha Kucha: The Hidden City

Please click the Link below to view my presentation:-

1. DONE PECHA KUCHA windows

slide 5

Today, I had to present my Idea’s within the field of the Hidden City so far. I was asked to deliver a Pecha Kucha documenting my findings and highlighting my interests to my peers. I talked about how I had started the project by brainstorming and researching artists such as Leonid Afremov and Elena Romanova to get my research underway. I highlighted the fact that the work of Fabio Giampetro hadreally got me thinking about the hidden city and the things that we don’t see within it. His aerial paintings of city views made me realise that we don’t really ever see the tops of buildings and now in a new age of technology people are walking the streets looking at their phones rather than looking up and taking in the surroundings.

I mentioned how I had started the project thinking that I was going to create a new city after seeing works by the archigram collective and artist’s like E-Boy and Bodys Isek Kingelez however, this didn’t work out for me and  I couldn’t really see any way to develop from the Ideas that I was already experimenting with so I went back to researching. I showed screenshots of articles that I had come across that highlighted urban loneliness. Some of them talked about Loneliness in Cities as being a health problem and how people maybe people created a loneliness by avoiding other people. I put forward the idea of hidden loneliness and told my peers that I was highly interested in this topic, how there can be so many people around you but you can still feel lonely, especially being from a rural area where it just isn’t apparent.

I displayed images of artist’s that had looked at similar ideas like Janice Jong and Jieun Park. I explained how Jieun had tried to portray the coexistence of the colourful impression we get of the city with its loneliness and that this is something that interests me artistically.  Edward Hopper heavily influenced my ideas, being one of the most famous painters that highlighted urban loneliness. I expressed my intrigue into the fact that he didn’t even realise that he was painting loneliness and displayed some of my sketches from the city.

I moved on to talk about a new angle that I had thought about through my visit to Berlin, the isolation and loneliness that people would have experienced because of the Berlin wall. With regards to Berlin, I showed images of two of my favourite and highly powerful pieces relating to the holocaust, how they related to my ideas and the isolation and unpleasantness I felt whilst experiencing the installations for myself. I quickly made clear my love for the technique of an unknown artists work that was tucked away on the floor of the urban spree gallery Berlin and talked about the abandoned places i’d visited, it is interesting that even though the city is glamorised as social you can still be alone quite easily.

My photography was an interesting talking point and I discussed how I wanted to show that the people I’d left in colour may as well be the only people wandering the city because unless you know someone, there is no conversation between strangers in cities. Zachary Johnson’s pieces were inspiring images that showed me even simply drawing the city can show its loneliness.

I finished off my presentation by mentioning how the two photo manipulations I showed to end it has been influenced by Laura Lima, an artist I had seen in the Kunsthalle in Berlin. I went on to say how I thought manipulating my own city images could be an interesting starting point to my artwork based on the hidden city. I cut out all the people from my photo’s apart from one showing you might as well be on your own and then experimented with painting over the people and blocking them out of the picture as if they didn’t exist.

In Hindsight, I think my presentation went well. The delivery of it was confident and it’s content interesting and informative. It investigated a variety of different angles to my chosen topic and documented my research and contextualised it appropriately. I found it a really useful tool to consolidate my research and something I would definitely look into producing again to relay my ideas.

Leave a Reply

