Subject Feedback: Time Project: An investigation into Food Decay

I was pretty pleased with the Feedback I received in conjunction with my Time project, considering it was the first formative feedback point of my Degree. I didn’t really know what to expect, I have worked really hard and was really hoping that was recognised and portrayed within my work. A system of Tick boxes was used under different categories ranging from very poor and insufficient up to excellent. I managed to achieve my ticks in the second from top box, The comment being very good, professional and interesting. 

IMG_2202

IMG_2203

IMG_2204

I was happy with the mark I achieved and the words that described my work, I was also given very valuable feedback, positive points and ways to improve my body of work. My tutor said I have had a strong term of experimenting with many different mediums and bring great enthusiasm and dedication to my practice. They said I had produced a large amount of work around my mould theme but in my diligence and hardworking enthusiasm there seems to have been little time for reflection. A criticism was given that it was not clear what my two final pieces were and that it would be interesting to reflect on whether I consider my work to be art at all.  Another criticism was that there has been little cross-fertilization from the lessons learnt in undertaking workshops into my studio practice. I do feel I have used what I have learnt in workshops but may be this is not made clear enough and there is no harm in doing more. There were many positive points in this feedback  and my tutor talked about how I had really good contextual referencing both in my notebooks and on my blog. They said my blog was really well executed which I was particularly proud of considering I have never blogged before.

The underlying point of my feedback was that all that is missing from my work is TIME FOR REFLECTION.

From this feedback, I got the impression that I had worked well and had a very good first term on my degree programme. The Criticisms seen here, are things that I can work on and improve my work and attitude as an art practitioner as a whole. I will make critical judgement on my work, experiment with incorporating things I’ve learnt in workshops into my work more, reflect, write a piece on whether I consider my work art and reflect some more. I will make it clearer which pieces I have chosen to be my two final pieces and reflect on why. After this I am hoping that I will have satisfied more of the criteria set and boost my grade upwards. Overall, I am pleased with how I have done and am glad that I clearly know how to improve on it.

Leave a Reply

