INSPIRATION FROM A TRIP TO LONDON – ANYA GALLACCIO

Whilst wandering around London, I went to look at a large variety of artworks and objects in a variety of Galleries and Settings. These included: The Royal College of Art: Australia Exhibition, The Hunterian Museum, The Tate Modern and The Tate Britain. However, It was in the Tate Modern, that I came across the work of Anya Gallaccio. As soon as I saw her piece “preserve beauty”, the connection between her work and mine was obvious. It was only after researching her work that I found out how influential she really was. Gallaccio is known for her work with organic materials such as ice, flowers, fruits and sugar. Her installations often change over time as they melt, decompose or sprout new life.

In  her piece “preserve beauty” 2000 gerberas are sandwiched between huge panes of glass and left to decay over time in the gallery. Shown below is an image of how the piece looked when it was first displayed. After researching this piece I discovered that this piece is a metaphor for her own perception of the male-dominated art scene that she feels faces us today.

preserve 'beauty' 1991-2003 by Anya Gallaccio born 1963

preserve 'beauty' 1991-2003 by Anya Gallaccio born 1963

 Shown Below, is an image of how the artwork looked when I visited the Tate Modern.You could smell the decay of this piece when you walked into where it was displayed.

 preserve 'beauty' 1991-2003 by Anya Gallaccio born 1963

Anya’s work gave me confidence in my own, because I viewed her work as an inspirational art piece rather than just some rotting flowers which is what I want to capture with mould and Food Decay. I know that if I saw a rotting flower in a vase I would never be as impressed but because they are displayed as art and have a concept behind them, they are. I did think that the piece had a certain beauty to it and encouraged me to continue making work changing the perception of something that may usually be considered repulsive.  This also made me realise how closely decay relates to death which could be a new concept to work with in the future of my investigation into food decay. I feel Gallaccio’s work is a real triumph and I look forward to seeing what she creates next.

Leave a Reply

