More Perspex Boxes: DECAY OVER TIME

I have now filled two more perspex boxes with bread and teabags as I previously proposed to see how they decay over a period of time. I am quite excited to see the development of mould within these boxes.

IMG_0668

There are so many different textures and surfaces within varied types of moulds. I am hoping that a lot of these will beapparent once these boxes are well into the decay process. Having actual evidence of a variety of moulds will help me make my work more realistic and hopefully inspire the continuation of my project.

IMG_0664

The contents of these two boxes are far less liquid and more dry than the vegetables. I am having a little bit of trouble with the other boxes leaking juice that is coming out of the moulding food. I didn’t realise that these items would leak any kind of liquid as they decayed but I’m finding it highly interesting learning about all these processes. I have put the boxes on canvas boards to see whether they leave any kind of marks or imprints on the boards. I could draw or paint from these boxes and they will always be there for me to reference mould in my artwork, also my work is always ongoing as the work is always changing over time.

Leave a Reply

