TIME: FOOD DECAY: Pen Sketches

     Drawings of Decaying foods: I have been drawing with 0.2 and 0.5 Black Fine Liner pens lately, as they allow for more expressive drawing and mark making. Here are a few quick sketches I have produced of mouldy foods. None of these sketches took longer than 5 minutes, I wanted to see how time effected my actual drawing practice, and even though they didn’t take very long, I feel these drawings are rather charming and have a lot of character. I also feel that they capture the decay of the food drawn well.

IMG_0433

I drew a variety of foods as they all decay in different ways. I think this sketch of the tomato is the most successful. You can tell that it is decayed and that it is incredibly squishy so I am confident that it is the drawing where I have captured the rotting best.

IMG_0438 IMG_0437 IMG_0436 IMG_0432

IMG_0435

Decaying foods make for very interesting drawing studies, I found this much more inspiring to draw from than if the food was not mouldy and was ordinary. We take for granted the simplest things in life and I would say that the beauty that can be seen in decay is most definitely one of them. Drawing these under timed conditions has opened my eyes to the fact that you do not have to spend hours on a drawing for it to be a success. It is also a great way of recording things quickly, especially if they are only there for a short amount of time. I will definitely be producing more timed drawings as it links my project to the brief of time even more.

Leave a Reply

